Old Whatsapp messages are always a headache for the users. You waste your time deleting messages from your mobile phone to get rid of the slowness of your phone. When you decide to improve your mobile performance, the significant bottleneck is your WhatsApp messages, and you waste your time to delete these messages.
Now Whatsapp has given you the option to delete messages from your phone after seven days of receiving or sending them on your phone. There is a lot of confusion about this feature.
Following are some common questions in your mind, which we will try to answer here in this article.
Where to find this option on my mobile phone? How can I enable this feature in my Whatsapp Application?
For an individual, you click on the name of the individual
For the individual, you click on the name of the individual, and you will find the option “Disappearing messages” option; if you don’t see this option, you can go and update your WhatsApp application in the Play Store (Android) or App Store (iPhone)
Now click on the disappearing message option shown above and choose to activate the disappearing message option.
By clicking on the Disappearing Messages, option activate and make sure it by seeing the following screen on your mobile
You can find the arrow showing the clock icon, which stays when this option is active with this individual. And below message is saying that the message will disappear after seven days.
Here you can disable this option by tapping this message and “off” the feature or do the same steps to “off” the option.
Now here we want to tell you this message will be deleted from your chat after seven days at the same time; this will be deleted from the individual chat as well.
The individual gets the same message on his screen App chat, and he can tap the option and off or on this disappearing messages option anytime, and you get the notification for that.
Is this feature available for Whatsapp Group, and who can enable it?
For a group to enable this feature, the group's admin can enable this. Simple members of the group can't allow this feature. Now after enabling this option, the chat will disappear after seven days.
After enabling this feature, what happens with my previous chat or messages?
After enabling the disappearing message feature, all your previous messages in the chat won't affect.
What happens with the media files if one doesn't open?
If a user doesn't open any media file like image, video, or any document for seven days after enabling this option, the message will disappear. However, the preview of the message might still be displayed in the notification until WhatsApp is opened.
If I reply to the disappearing message, will my quoted text remain in chat after seven days?
If the user replies to a message, the initial message is quoted. If the user replies to a message after this option, the quoted text might remain in the chat after seven days.
If the disappearing message is forwarded to another individual with off this option, will the message disappear in the forwarded chat?
No, If you forward a message from an individual for whom you enable the disappearing option and deliver it to an individual for whom you have not allowed this option, In that case, you can find this message after seven days with this individual.
If the automatic download option is enabled and the disappearing messages option is also enabled, In that case, the received media file will be downloaded to my phone. Will it be on my phone after seven days?
Yes, After seven days, your auto-downloaded media files will be there on your phone, but the text message will be deleted, which will be in chat. To keep the backup of any chat, you should take the screenshot with you.
What if I create a backup before a message disappears?
If you create a backup before a message disappears, the message will be included in the backup, but the message will be deleted when you restore from the backup.
Can I copy or save the disappearing message before it disappears?
Yes, you can copy and save the message before it disappears from your chat.
Note: Only use disappearing messages with trusted individuals.